Skip to content

Kindle and iPad covers

March 26, 2012

On request of my sister I’ve made these kindle and ipad covers. Now they have arrived safely I can post these up.

All the fabric is from Dunelm Mill and the cord for the button loops is from Hobby craft. Both of these are well padded with batting to make them better for travelling or the hands of small children!  The grey button was one I had in stock and the wooden toggle came from the sewing shop in the village.

The two different sizes were measured to fit, but the tutorial generic design came from Elizabeth’s Whimsies blog. Only I don’t do patchwork, so I used a single piece for the front cover. The cord for the button loops is made by celebrate and it’s nylon, so I cut three lengths, heated the tops with a lighter and gently squeezed together until they stuck together (being careful not to burn my fingers!). Then I plaited the three together and burnt the ends together again to keep plaited. This hopefully will give a stronger button loop than one strand.

 

Linings for the smaller kindle cover was simple plain black so more masculine for my brother-in-law, while the iPad cover has a soft almost velvet texture with a silver pattern on to match the flowers embroidered on the outer fabric.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

