Skip to content

Distraction

November 28, 2011

With so much else going on at the moment I’ve been trying to keep myself busy and distracted.

So I’ve made this stocking as an early christmas present for my gorgeous niece Sophie who’ll be 7 months at christmas time. She might not know what a stocking is for, but her older sister and brother will! The red part of the stocking is made from fleece fabric, the white and red heart fabric is cotton and the trees and ‘S’ are made from felt.

I drew out the stocking shape on some A3 paper and cut two. Next I drew round where I wanted the heel and toe to be and cut these out of the cotton, then printed out the S shapnd cut out. Lastly the christmas trees were cut out with pinking shears (idea from purlbee). I used my sewing machine to applique on the heel, toe and ‘S’ shape in red thread to contrast. The trees were stitched on by hand with sparkly green thread.

With all the decoration in place I could stitch the stocking together. The top heart swag was top stitched to give a neater finish and hanging handle were added last.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

